Launch of Mrs. Sudha Murty Distinguished Chair

The second of the three distinguished Chairs established by Mr. Kris and Mrs. Sudha Gopalakrishnan at IISc has been named after alumnus Mrs. Sudha Murty, Chairperson, Infosys Foundation.

Prof. Vasant Honavar, the Edward Frymoyer Endowed Professor of Information Sciences and Technology at Pennsylvania State University, is the first recipient of the Chair.

The three Distinguished Chairs in Neurocomputing and Data Science were established with a generous contribution from the Pratiksha Trust set up by Mr. Kris and Mrs. Sudha Gopalakrishnan. The objective of this intiative is to promote high impact collaboration leading to capacity building and ecosystem creation in brain, computation, data and systems, at IISc and in India.

The first of these, the K. Vaidyanathan Distinguished Chair, is currently occupied by Prof. Shihab Shamma, Professor, Institute for Systems Research at the University of Maryland.

Photos: Jagadesh

Posted by sc_admin123

Leave a Reply